Afternoon Delights

Standard

While perusing my Google Reader this morning I came across these delicious treats from Love Veggies and Yoga.  I bookmarked the recipe this morning not really planning on making them today.  However as the day grew longer I couldn’t get them off my mind.  Inspired by Averie’s recipe, I decided to make my own version.

Almond Butter Cups
(yields 6 large cups)

  • 8 ounces of semi-sweet bakers chocolate (any chocolate will do)
  • 3/4 cup almond butter (sugar added)
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp salt

In a small saucepan melt chocolate over low heat, stirring into all pieces are melted.  Combine almond butter, salt, and vanilla.  Stir until mixed.  Line a cupcake tin with six paper liners.  Pour half of the chocolate into the paper cups.  Dab tablespoon sized almond butter balls in center of chocolate.  Pour remaining chocolate over almond butter.  Use spoon or small spatula to smooth chocolate.  Allow cups to harden in refrigerator for at least one hour.  Remove cups from cupcake tin, peel off paper, and enjoy!

These were definitely yummy!  I love peanut butter cups, but hate all the nasty additives they bring to the party.  You could easily substitute peanut butter, sunflower butter, or any other nut butter that tickles your fancy.  I did end up with a little extra almond butter mixture leftover. Instead of throwing away good almond butter, I decided to roll them in some sweetened coconut flakes and pop in the fridge.  They look equally delicious, I’m waiting for them to harden up before tasting!

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

