Friday!

Standard

Friday is my favorite day of the week!  It is the last day of the work week and my pay day!  I used to despise cooking on Friday nights.  It felt like I was a free woman being forced to slave away in the kitchen.  Thankfully I have recently left this mindset behind me and LOVE cooking on Fridays.  It’s wonderful to spend Friday night with J eating a wonderful meal, enjoying a few drinks, and knowing I can sleep in the next day.  Not that I am ever able to sleep in on weekends.  My body just doesn’t allow it.

For this particular Friday I will be making a version of this wonderful recipe from Picky Palate.  If you’ve never had goat cheese I highly recommend giving it a try.  I never thought I would enjoy goat cheese, but one bite and I was sold.  I actually try to buy the goat cheese version of every cheese if I can.  One of my particular favorites is goat cheese feta.  It doesn’t have as much bite as regular feta, making a great salad topper.

Steak and Goat Cheese Quesadillas With Fiesta Relish

1.5 lbs Beef steak (I used chuck shoulder, 3 steaks)

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/4 tsp fresh cracked black pepper

2 cloves finely chopped garlic

1 tsp dried parsley

3/4-1 cup red wine (enough to cover steaks completely)

1.5 – 2 cup water or low-sodium broth (again, enough to cover steaks completely)

1 tbs extra virgin olive oil

8 oz corn kernels (fresh, canned or frozen)

1 cup grape tomatoes, quartered

1/4 cup fresh cilantro leaves, finely chopped

1/4 tsp sea salt

1/4 tsp fresh cracked black pepper

1 tbs hot sauce (optional) I prefer Cholula

8-10 8 inch flour tortillas

2-3 tbs canola or safflower oil (I have a spray bottle I fill with oil that sprays on like non-stick spray)

8 oz Goat Cheese, crumbled (shredded monterey jack can be substituted)

Sea salt

1.  Cook steaks in the crockpot on low for 6 hours.  Pour  wine and water in bottom.  Season with salt, pepper, garlic and parsley.  Continue adding wine and water until steaks are completely covered at a 1:2 ratio. After cooked, cut the steaks into bite size pieces.

2.  To make fiesta relish, heat olive oil in a small saucepan over medium heat.  Add corn kernels, tomatoes, cilantro, hot sauce, salt and pepper.  Cook for 5 minutes, until warm and fragrant.

3.  Spray oil onto one side of tortilla.  Place oiled side down onto a large skillet over medium heat.  Sprinkle one side of tortilla with goat cheese and a few pieces of steak on top.  With a spatula, fold tortilla in half and cook each side until browned and crisp.  Lightly salt top of  quesadilla.  Transfer to a plate and top with spoonfuls of Fiesta Relish.  Continue making quesadillas until you have enough for dinner and plenty for leftovers.  About 8-10 quesadillas.

I did use canned corn for this recipe (we bought a case from Costco awhile back and I’m dying to get rid of it), but would have preferred fresh grilled or boiled kernels. Unfortunately I didn’t have any broth on hand so I ended up using water.  I also made the relish recipe in the morning when putting the steaks in the crock pot.  I refrigerated it for the day and reheated as I made the quesadillas.  I think the salsa came out tasting better because it had time to marinate in the fridge, however I did chop up more fresh cilantro because the marinated pieces were soggy.  If I were to do the salsa over I would still make it in the morning without the cilantro and add when you’re ready to serve.

Needless to say we enjoyed every bite!  I have plenty of leftovers for lunch/dinner over the weekend.  Which I have to say is my favorite part about making dinner on Friday night.  We used to eat out a lot on the weekends due to lack of food in the fridge.  Lately this has not been a problem.  J also made us some tasty accompanying cocktails.  I will make sure and post cocktails recipes in future posts.  I hope everyone has a wonderfully tasty weekend!

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Saturday Afternoon Refresher « GoofyCanCook

  2. Pingback: » Saturday Afternoon Refresher Goofy Can Cook

Leave a Reply

