Homemade tahini and spilled red pepper flakes

Standard

Being a scorcher of a Sunday I decided some refreshing hummus and veggies would make a nice afternoon snack.  Today seemed like a good day to make my first homemade batch of hummus.  I had all the ingredients and some leftover basil that was almost going bad.  Perfect to make a basil red-pepper hummus.  After browsing quite a few recipes I finally found one somewhat close to what I wanted, however it required tahini.  I had never worked with tahini before, but after some research I found it’s quite easy to make.  Toasted sesame seeds and oil.  I was all set.

 

Homemade Tahini (adapted from Cupcake Project’s recipe)
makes about 1/2 cup

  • 1 cup roasted sesame seeds
  • 3 tbs safflower oil (or olive oil)

Heat a saute pan over medium heat.  Add sesame seeds and toast lightly for about 2 minutes.  Make sure to stir or toss constantly so as not to burn them.  As soon as they start to brown, they are done.  Transfer seeds to a bowl and let cool completely.  Once cooled poor into a food processor or blender and grind until the seeds start to turn into a “butter”.  Add the oil in one tablespoon at a time, blending for about 2 minutes in between.  Continue adding oil until last tablespoon of oil is added, and blend for an additional minute.  Transfer to a bowl or container.  Make sure you stir well before use as the oil will slowly start to separate.  Use in any recipe calling for tahini, especially hummus!

Now this is where my story takes a bad turn.  I started putting all of my ingredients in the cleaned blender(disassembling to clean is where something went terribly wrong).  I started to blend but slowly realized that the blender wasn’t fitting into the base and some of the hummus was coming out the bottom.  Well my first instinct was to put the lid on and tip the blender to the side so that it would stop falling out the bottom.  The first disaster struck.  The lid fell off and almost all of the hummus fell on the floor! AH!  So as I’m rushing the blender to the sink my unopened(always put the lid back on before you walk away) container of red pepper flakes was bumped and dumped completely onto the floor.  Second disaster!  Sadly the thought of taking a picture didn’t occur to me until after I spent 15 minutes cleaning everything up.  So no messy kitchen pictures for you.

I am not letting this defeat me from making hummus, just maybe delaying my next attempt for a few days.  I promise the recipe will come up once I fix my blender(or get a food processor) and remember to buy more basil and red pepper flakes.  Enjoy the homemade tahini!

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Salty “Caramels” « GoofyCanCook

  2. Pingback: Can Goofy bake a pie? « GoofyCanCook

  3. Pingback: » Salty “Caramels” Goofy Can Cook

  4. Pingback: » Can Goofy bake a pie? Goofy Can Cook

Leave a Reply

