Power “Bars”

Standard

Last week I stumbled upon this cookie recipe from Carrots ‘N’ Cake and had to try them.  I made a couple small adjustments by adding cinnamon and using goat’s milk yogurt, but thoroughly enjoyed them.  They are definitely dense and will sit in your stomach waiting to be digested.  You would think I had learned my lesson about eating too many in one sitting.  Well, think again.  Tonight I decided to make a few changes by adding bananas instead of sugar.  Once I had the batter all mixed up I began to wonder if it would hold together as a cookie and decided to make them into bars.  Well the bar didn’t run at all, so I think we’re safe on the cookie front.  I promise to test them out and post pictures of my successful cookies(hopefully).  Well I did eat too many tonight and have a bit of a stomach ache.  So eat them sparingly.  I don’t want all of my readers (the 5 of you) laying awake cursing my recipes.

Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Power Cookies (adapted from Carrots ‘N’ Cake)

  • 1.5 cups rolled oats
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/3 cup almond butter (I use the kind with sugar)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 ounces vanilla Greek goat’s milk yogurt (regular vanilla greek yogurt works as well)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips (at least 60%)

Preheat oven to 350*F. Coat a baking sheet with non-stick cooking spray, or use a silicon mat.  Combine banana, yogurt, vanilla, egg, and almond butter.  Blend together using spatula or spoon.  Add salt, cinnamon, and oats.  Chop up chocolate chips into “chunks” and add to batter.  At this point you can choose to make bars or cookies.  If making bars, spread batter into a rectangle in the center of the pan.  If making cookies, use a spoon to portion out dough into 12 cookies.  Bake cookies for 15-20 minutes until batter no longer looks wet.  Bake bars for 20-25 minutes until center looks dry.  Cool in pan for 5 minutes then move to cookie rack to cool completely.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

