Salty “Caramels”

Standard

I’ve had a container of dates in my pantry since May and have had no inspiration to cook with them.  I know they’re great to substitute in breads and baked goods but I hadn’t come across the right recipe, until now. Averie over at Love Veggies and Yoga posted a Raw Vegan Caramels recipe and I had to try it for myself.  They definitely have the caramel texture and flavor with much less sugar and plenty of fiber.  I’m sure somehow we’ll manage to choke them down. 🙂

I do strongly urge using a food processor.  My blender didn’t quite do the trick.  It allows small amounts to get stuck under the blades which makes it almost impossible to completely puree/chop something.  Someday I’ll get a food processor, someday.  At least I didn’t have another hummus fiasco!

Salty “Caramels” (adapted from Raw Vegan Caramels by Love Veggies and Yoga)

1/2 cup pine nuts (I used raw but roasted would work just as well)

3/4 cup California dates (pitted)

1 tsp vanilla extract

pinch of kosher salt

Grind pine nuts in a food processor(or blender) until almost all “nuts” are broken down.  Add dates and continue blending(you may have to stop and scrape down sides) until all the dates are broken down and mix forms a sticky paste.  Scoop paste only parchment paper and use spatula to make into a smooth square to desired thickness(mine were about 1/2″ thick).  Sprinkle pinch of salt on top and fold into a little parchment paper “pocket”.  Allow to cool in fridge for several hours(or overnight).  Remove from fridge, unfold parchment paper, and using a pizza cutter make 1/2″ cubes.  Store refrigerated in an airtight container. Enjoy!

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Review: KitchenAid 9-Cup Food Processor « GoofyCanCook

  2. Pingback: Can Goofy bake a pie? « GoofyCanCook

  3. Pingback: » Can Goofy bake a pie? Goofy Can Cook

Leave a Reply

